Baby’s First Christmas (with an obscene amount of pictures)

I think Christmas was a little overwhelming for the tiny person.  She’s still so cranky today!  It probably doesn’t help that daddy (her favorite person) was home for 4 days and then had the nerve to go to work today.  We are also snowed in and couldn’t even leave the house to go to the gym, which means no play time with her favorite daycare ladies.

Seriously, I went to the mailbox around noon and by 2 PM my footprints were pretty much gone.  I’m guessing this means I’ll be skipping my 4 miler tomorrow.  I guess the universe is trying to tell me to stop ignoring my lingering arch and calf pain.

You are a fool, mommy.

Anyways, my mom got here on Sunday and we got straight down to business celebrating the holidays.  The Columbus Zoo is known for their Wildlights display, so we headed out to the zoo after enjoying a delicious Mexican feast (Charlotte’s favorite food is Mexican).  Once Charlotte was done staring at the waiter (it was creepy), we bundled up and headed in to an incredible display.

This picture doesn’t really do the display justice. I’ve never seen anything like it. All of the trees are lit up and there are sweet animal designs everywhere.

Charlotte snuggled up in the Ergo, which was zipped into my coat with a blanket on top.

Yeah, this guy was awesome. My mother was also in costume as an Inuit. She never did complain about being cold though!

I should also add that Charlotte’s hat was made by Sarah at Run Sqrl, Run.  She’s super awesome like that!

We occasionally ducked inside to warm up. This was a creepy as hell “snowglobe”. I really want to know who this guy pissed off to get stuck in there.

It was a great display, but I was so frustrated that the zoo employees were not enforcing the no smoking policy.  Some lady lit up right behind us and I wanted to strangle her for exposing my kid to her bad life choices.

Moving on.  The next night was church followed by the food of my people (Chinese, as my mother is a Jew from Queens).  My favorite three year old was sitting behind us loudly demanding to know if church was over yet.  I could not stop cracking up.

Christmas Family Portrait

Christmas and Easter dresses may be the real reason I wanted a girl. And this child humors me by hamming for the camera as soon as she sees it.

Charlotte was so not interested in church since it was at 5 PM and that is her epic meltdown time. We made it through, but she left a trail of puffs and yogurt melts and I managed to drop a (large, hardcover) hymnal twice.  Anyways, we got the kid to bed and my mom grabbed a serious feast of Chinese take-out from across the road.  I’m still eating the delicious leftover moo shu.

Christmas morning I woke up and did 4 (sloooow) miles.  All of the delicious ethnic cuisine does not lead to stomach happiness and the sidewalks were really poorly cleared.  Probably good practice for trail running, right?  Once I got home we went straight to presents, despite me being hella stinky.  I realize I probably can’t run on Christmas for quite awhile after this year, so I figured I’d take advantage of it while I could.

Charlotte adores the ring stacker. She played with it for an hour this morning. The dogs fear it because she beats them with it.  And yes, that is a llama children’s book in the background.

This is her other favorite present. Grandma went all out. She’s been pushed from room to room all day (I keep my hand on her so she can’t fall over).  And yes, my post-run hair is SEXY.

Baby’s real favorite toy. We took it away once Keith had to pull a chunk out of her mouth.

Waiting for turducken on the couch. Delilah decided Charlotte’s lap looked the comfiest.  BTW, that toy next to Delilah was her Christmas present.  It has indestructible squeakers that appear to really be indestructible.  My husband is never picking dog gifts again.

My mom left right after our Christmas lunch of turducken with cajun pork rice stuffing to escape the approaching storm.  I spent the rest of the day in PJs eating Christmas sweets and watching terrible movies (I also did about 3.5 hours of work, but that still involved sitting on my butt).  Today I’ve been busy undecking my halls.  Please tell me I’m not the only one who can’t stand to have decor up past the holiday.  Apparently I also can’t stand the idea of Christmas cookies and candy laying around, judging from how many I’ve eaten today.  Yeesh.

About Sarah S @RunningOnWords

Married 20-something in flux and trying to cope by running and occasionally crafting.
This entry was posted in Columbus, Dogs, Family, Leapster, Parenting. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Baby’s First Christmas (with an obscene amount of pictures)

  1. Baby looks soooo cute and content! Beautiful family pics as well 😀

  2. Terzah says:

    I love my little tomboy, but I do wish she’d occasionally want to wear a pretty dress like that. Merry Christmas! That was you and me out there doing four slow miles yesterday (but we didn’t get any snow here in Missouri at my mom’s house–which is mostly OK with me since we have to drive back to Colorado with two six-year-olds on Friday).

  3. Army Amy says:

    Charlotte’s Christmas dress is so incredibly cute! Maybe I need to buy some dolls so I can put cute dresses on something as I have no child. Not creepy, right?*

  4. I keep my decorations up till New Years Day. They come down after that, if I’m not lazy.
    Love C’s dress! So sweet.
    So, C has a favorite food already, does she? I would like to know what Mexican food she’s eating. And does she like it spicy?

    • She get a cheese quesadilla with tortilla chips and Mexican rice. I have also let her try a bite or two of enchilada. She actually love banana peppers, but that’s the spiciest thing we’ve ever let her have (by let, I mean she ripped it off of my pizza).

  5. Sarah says:

    Yay! The hat! so cute. 🙂

  6. Kailey says:

    Baby’s first Christmas is always so enjoyable 🙂

  7. Laura @ Mommy Run Fast says:

    I’m jealous of all your snow! Sounds like the perfect Christmas. We were really happy to stay home this year, too. Great family pictures!

  8. Pingback: 2012, now with (some) new pictures | Running On Words

  9. Mandy says:

    You got way more out of the zoo lights than we did! Charlotte looks like she was pleasantly spoiled. 😉

Leave a Reply

