2012, now with (some) new pictures

Someone told me on Saturday that I must be so glad that 2012 is almost over since it was such a bad year.

Wait, what?

I suppose it started out rather poorly.  February was basically spent in and out of the hospital on bedrest.  Still, the weather was wonderfully unseasonably warm.  I was so afraid of ice and falling, but it never really got bad.  I made it to my unplanned c-section on 2/29/2012 without any injury (unless you count all of the blown IV sites and missed blood draws).

This happened in January though, which was awesome. Dear NHL, please come back to me in 2013. I miss you. Also, I thought I was SO HUGE then. Hahaha, not so much champ.

A week before my c-section. That was all the standing I was allowed to do that day. And yes, my face was SWOLLEN.

This was the best and worst moment of the year. I loved meeting my little person, but they promptly took her away for 6.5 weeks.

March and half of April were spent going back and forth to the NICU.  I can honestly say that we had a terrible experience there and I am questioning if I am willing to have another baby at that hospital (we probably will because it’s the only hospital with a NICU that my OBGYN delivers at and I love her).  So yes, the NICU sucked.  I wouldn’t wish it on anyone, but we did get moved to a special wing for low-risk babies and I can honestly say that I never worried that my child wasn’t going to be ok.  We avoided every preemie complication (unless you count reflux, but I know full-term babies who have it MUCH worse).

Bili lights and a c-pap. That’s pretty minor for a preemie.

Charlotte finally made it home in April after a kick-ass baby shower on St. Patrick’s Day.  Buying our home in March was epically stressful.  Our mortgage almost fell apart at the last minute and my husband’s good friend had to come to the hospital to notarize a power of attorney so he could close on the house without me (lawyers are automatically eligible to be notaries in the state of Ohio. Fact: this is awesome for my convenience).  I’ll admit, I was disappointed to miss my first closing, but let’s be honest and admit I would have probably been bored and zoned out after 2.5 seconds.  I miss my Ritalin.  I hope we can get back together in 2013.

The puggles loved the new hairless puppy instantly.  And they love their new house, even if they are unable to hit the brakes on the hardwood.

I defended my dissertation 6 days after Charlotte came home.  It was stressful, but honestly, it meant I didn’t have time to get anxious.  It was over before I knew it and time just kind of flew by until graduation in June. I can’t remember when Charlotte started sleeping through the night, but it was sometime in June and by July 4 she had moved into her crib and I was sleeping really well.  I don’t think most full-term babies sleep that well that early, so I am so thankful for my child’s love of sleep (she’s now sleeping around 11-12 hours a night).

Contrary to rumor, I really do have parents and was not raised by wolves.  And yes, that was the only shirt I could wear because I needed to pump.  Don’t miss that!

Those robes were so hot and the ceremony was so long (and outside), but I was elated to be done.

I started training for my contract job in July and I’ve been working since the beginning of August.  I’ve been fortunate enough to have extra hours available every week since I started.  It’s not the most stimulating job and it’s not in my field, but it’s paying the mortgage and then some.  Also, I get to be home all day with a really cute baby, so I’m not complaining.

This little face makes my day.

We also get to have awesome play dates.

The puggles are also loving this arrangement since they are no longer crated all day.

 

I also finally got back to running and ran a 4 miler, a 5K, my first mud run, and my first 10K this fall.  I also battled IT Band syndrome and plantar fasciitis, which knocked me out of training for the Columbus half marathon (again).  I’ve also almost completed the first phase of The New Rules of Lifting for Women and my biceps feel like rocks under a nice thick layer of fat.

My bestest running buddy is a ham. We racked up some miles in 2012, but we’ve got a whole lot more planned for 2012.

We coasted through the end of the year, although Charlotte’s 6-9 (08/29-11/29) month photo book was packed because we had so much fun (weaning after 8 months of exclusively pumping really opened up some time).  We went a bunch of church events, including watching two local parades, Charlotte got baptized on 10/14, we celebrate her first Halloween and Thanksgiving, and both mine and my husbands’ birthdays.  December was also busy with Charlotte’s first play and Christmas.

I love that fluffy white gown. It’s hanging in Charlotte’s closet because I love it too much to pack it up.

10 months old. 2013 will most certainly bring crawling and eventually walking. I’m not sure I’m quite ready for mobility.  I’m also sure the cat is not ready for her to be mobile. 

Last picture of 2012 right before she went to bed.

Other highlights: so many trips to the zoo, hanging out with llamas, finding and joining an amazing church, Charlotte’s first wedding, and a whole bunch of other stuff I’ll remember 5 minutes after hitting publish.

Best. Day. Ever. 

So yeah, there were parts of 2012, but I think it all paled in comparison to the awesome.  Now if only I could get over the fact that kids born in 2000 will be teenagers in 2013.  And my husband will turn 30. We are so old.

About Sarah S @RunningOnWords

Married 20-something in flux and trying to cope by running and occasionally crafting.
This entry was posted in Dogs, Family, Grad School, Leapster, NICU, Parenting, Preemie. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to 2012, now with (some) new pictures

  1. Kara says:

    I still can’t believe you made it 8 months with exclusive pumping. You are a rockstar.

  2. Terzah says:

    Um, 30 is old? What are you trying to say? :^)

    Happy New Year! I’m celebrating by going to bed (I’m with Charlotte–sleep is the best).

  3. TriGirl says:

    I agree–you had a monumental year! So many good things to overtake the few bad things. I hope you have a great 2013…it’s sure to be busy!

  4. Army Amy says:

    Sounds like a pretty darn good year to me! There were definitely tough days in there (The NICU sounds zero fun) but there were also some incredibly achievements. House, PhD, Baby! For some people, just one of those things would make their year. So yeah, you rocked it! I hope that 2013 is filled with as much joy, and many fewer sucky parts!*

  5. Mandy says:

    So much fun walking down memory lane with you. What a packed year you had!

  6. Your year was packed– and doesn’t every year have highs and lows? That’s kind of a silly thing to tell someone… in any case, great recap. You definitely have a cute kid!

Leave a Reply

