Public shaming part deux

I kind of suck at goal setting.

No, that’s not true, I suck at goal attaining.

Some of you may recall that I lost 15 pounds before getting pregnant.  My intent was to lose at least another 71, but for obvious reasons I put that on hold.  The good news is that I only gained back the original 15 pounds during pregnancy and lost it all within two weeks.  By the time I finished pumping at 8 months, my total weight loss was 27 pounds from where I started.  I’ve since gained back about 5 pounds despite my jeans falling off.

“They” say that weight loss is 80% in the kitchen.  I definitely buy it, but I can’t find a scholarly citation (the latest issue of Self is not scholarly).  Have I mentioned that I think healthy living bloggers do a crap job citing material?  Anyways, I’ll be the first to admit that my eating habits are ridiculous.

My desk is near the kitchen and in a freezing corner, which makes me comfort/bored eat all the time.  I also want things that are hot all the time, which means I’m not snacking on veggies.  We also have a lot of high calorie snack food around for the baby (she needs to gain weight more than she needs veggies for every meal).  Also, I had a particularly terrifying incident recently where I ate undercooked broccoli (I don’t like the taste raw, so I’ve never really eaten it that way) and learned I am quite allergic.  Benedryl took care of the throat tightness and itchiness, but the horrible stomach cramping lasted all night long.  My mom is allergic to pretty much all raw produce, so this isn’t a total shock, but it sucks.  I can definitely eat some veggies raw, but I’m afraid to try new ones especially when my husband isn’t home.

Perhaps this should also be my “come to Jesus” moment on needing an EpiPen.  I used to carry one, but it expired years ago and I’m cheap and lazy.

Anyways, I’m using My Fitness Pal (add me if you use it) to track my eating.  Last time I used SparkPeople, but I didn’t really account for calories burned during exercise and was hungry all the time.  This automatically updates my daily calorie budget to include whatever I’ve burned, so long run days I have to eat a lot.  It’s awesome.

Since I get to eat way more if I work out, I’m feeling highly motivated all of the sudden.  I have a trail 10K in 2 weeks and a trail 20K on 2/17.  I’m debating doing the Xenia half marathon on 4/7.  It’s hella cheap, but I’d need to do another 10 miler after the 20K.  Mandy said she’d do it with me, so it’s definitely a possibility if I can not hurt myself.  I also haven’t ruled out The Flying Pig half marathon on 5/5, but again I’m gun shy from constantly being injured.  I am also registered for some mud run on 3/2.  There was a Groupon and it comes with free admittance to the Arnold, which has been on my list forever.  The Governator flies in for it every year and it’s filled with crazy paleo bodybuilders.  I need to go people watch!

My plan is to continue running Tuesday, Thursday, Saturday.  I start phase 2 of New Rules of Lifting for Women tomorrow and I plan to keep lifting Monday and Wednesday along with 20 minutes of cycling or other indoor cardio.  I’ve flirted with not have Sunday be a total rest day, but we often are pretty busy on the weekends and the gym doesn’t have Sunday childcare.  I definitely do enjoy my total rest day on Friday, though.  That’s staying forever.  I moved my Monday weight session to Friday last week and my long run felt like death.  I was so sore going into it.  And then I wiped out on the ice like a champ and now my knee is bruised and sore.  It’s the same knee I destroyed two years ago falling down cement stairs and the bruise is directly under the huge scar.  I really have it in for my right patella.

So, I guess that’s a really long way of saying that Weight Loss Wednesdays are back!  I know no one missed them besides Emily, but it does help to know that I have to tell the entirenetz when I pig out and gain 500 pounds because I spent all week eating deep fried Twinkies (my husband is Texan after all).  Also, the encouragement last time really helped and I promise not to disappear because I got knocked up again.  Well, I don’t plan on it anyways.

Oh, I’m sorry, you read all the way to the bottom and there were no baby pictures.

Why don’t you love me!?

About Sarah S @RunningOnWords

Married 20-something in flux and trying to cope by running and occasionally crafting.
This entry was posted in Training, Weight Loss. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Public shaming part deux

  1. trikatykid says:

    Keep up the great work! My Fitness Pal is a wonderful app. I used to use it but I’m taking a break. Your baby is super cute. Even when crying 🙂

  2. April says:

    Yay Weight Loss Wednesdays! I’m rooting for you!

    But oh, that totally sucks (lol I typed ‘dicks’ and autocorrect fixed it to sucks) about the broccoli. I’m so glad we just have deathly bug bite allergies in this house. Although I guess it’s easier to avoid produce than nature.

  3. Holly says:

    If you like hot things, try drinking hot tea. As for the baby snacks can you put then in one area and make it the baby cupboard — no adults allowed?

    Weird on the vegetables. I have never heard of that.

    I would like to see a citation on the 80% too but I think it’s more just a general consensus. It seems hard to put facts on weight/fitness type stuff sometimes due to everyone being different and having different results.

    What you put in you will get out. Good luck girl!

  4. Terzah says:

    Eating is my Achilles heel for sure–I love working out, I’m great at sticking to a workout schedule, but ask me to count calories or write up meal plans and I start to drool and snore. For this reason that 80% in the kitchen thing always depresses me. But I think you’ll do great–you were on a roll before you got pregnant and post-pregnancy has been great for you, so you know you can do it. All those races will help too! :^)

  5. Mandy says:

    I’m with Terzah. Awesome at workout plans, terrible at diet ones. I am on MyFitnessPal too, maybe if I add you, I’ll feel more accountable? Maybe I need to do weight loss Wednesdays too and we can hold each other accountable. LOL! You will do awesome, you’re way more stubborn then me! 😀

  6. Sounds like you’re ready to get back on track. I use My Fitness Pal too and it keeps asking me to add friends from Facebook. I do not need my friends knowing all the crap I eat. haha Wait, maybe that’s the point.

Leave a Reply

