Weight Loss Wednesday 2.1

Weight: 202 pounds (it causes me pain to type this despite my last WWW being 211 and pre-pregnancy)
Waist: 37 inches (I have lost 2.5 inches since I last recorded it in July)
Hips: 45 inches (one inch down since July!)

Thoughts so far on My Fitness Pal: I feel like I’m eating too much. I mean, I’m hungry, but I was given over 2000 calories to eat yesterday when I included my baseline 1200, my morning 4.5 mile run, and my 2 miles of dog walking (I do walk relatively fast with 2 dogs and a stroller, but still). Don’t get me wrong, I’m hungry by evening, but I’m wondering if I started plateauing last time because I wasn’t eating enough. Or I’m about to blow up like a balloon. I really want to restrict myself to 1550 calories a day max, but I need to give this method a chance to work first.

Thoughts on NROLW: Stage 2 damn near killed me the first time. It included this charming little move called “static lunge, rear foot elevated”. My thighs, they are burning. Also, I’m absurdly clumsy and have a seriously bruised right knee. My foot kept slipping out behind me while I tried to keep my balance. This program was not designed for klutzes. There’s also a lot more moves where I go backwards (danger) and my right wrist is killing me today after workout B. Le sigh.

This is the static lunge, rear foot elevated. I am far too whimpy to use weights for it, however. My large body mass is plenty.

Thoughts on running: Eating better dropped my mile time by about 30s/mile during the week. I’d love to say that eating Mexican food and Burger King did that, but it would be a sad lie. I think it’s time to admit that I’ll never speed up if I eat crap. This causes me great pain, for the record. It’s warming up this week, so it’s been much easier to get up and run, although I did come home with a few seriously red patches on my abdomen. I think I needed an extra layer, but it looked fine after I warmed back up. I’ve got 7 miles on the schedule for this weekend and I think that will be the moment of truth in knowing if I’m really going to be ready for my 20K.

In other running news, I was selected as a blogger for Pretty Muddy Columbus. You may recall that I ran walked Pretty Muddy last September as my first mud run and enjoyed it, even if I was so sore after that it hurt to walk. They haven’t announced the venue yet, so I’m holding out hope that it’s changed since that was my least favorite part last year (and a huge part of why I said I wasn’t sure I’d do it again). Still, I really did enjoy it (although rereading my recap, it doesn’t come across that way) and I’m excited to do it again (for free), hopefully with friends this time. I have a discount code for $20 off if anyone is interested (I believe this works in all markets, not just Columbus): GIRLTIME. Use it if you’d like. Or not. I’m not the boss of you. And let me know if you are doing the Columbus event! I’m leaning towards a 10 AM start time, but I want the venue information first so I know how far I have to drive (last time it was an hour north of the city, which was only a 30 minutes drive for me).

So, in summation, I think this is a good start. I walked the dogs 2.5 miles today (2 in one go) and had a REALLY hard time keeping my pants up (the smaller pants I bought the week I found out I was pregnant). That’s gotta be a good sign, right?

About Sarah S @RunningOnWords

Married 20-something in flux and trying to cope by running and occasionally crafting.
This entry was posted in Food, Training, Weight Loss. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Weight Loss Wednesday 2.1

  1. Pam says:

    Hi Sarah,

    I’m a nutritionist and regarding using my fitness pal, it’s a great site for accountability in what your eating but to maximize your weight loss, you shouldn’t really be eating back the calories that you work off especially if you are already thinking you are eating too much. People tend to greatly underestimate what the actual calories they eat and over estimate how much they’ve actually burned. So it might be best to just try sticking to your daily calorie allowance, around 1400 on non workout days and 1600-1800 on workout days and don’t even pay attention to the extra calories it’s says you can still eat from exercise. If you don’t eat back the calories burned, this will definitely maximize and increase your weightloss pretty rapidly. Give it a try?

  2. Army Amy says:

    I don’t even like regular lunges, so I can’t imagine the burn from “rear leg elevated” ones. But there is some sick part of me that really wants to try them anyway! Ha!

    It sounds to me like you are off to a great start! Keep the momentum going!*

  3. Terzah says:

    When I train with Colleen, she makes me do lunges like that! So at least we know they work, even if we’re both clumsy (and in my case also graceless).

    I wish I could do the mud run with you. I’m home with a stomach virus today–I’m not even going to do my easy run. Ugh.

    You’ll get there on the diet stuff–extreme patience is required, I know. It took me, oh, about four years after giving birth to get back to my pre-preg weight, so you’re ahead of me already. :^)

  4. Mandy says:

    I have had two separate trainers make me do lunges like that – so perhaps they are effective?

    I have heard numerous arguments about the calorie allowance from MFP. They credit you back ALL of your workout calories, which they shouldn’t. Why? Because your base daily allowance of calories accounts for all your calories burned while resting – including any time you wind up exercising. So really, when you exercise, you have to both add in the exercise calories, but subtract out the resting calories that were already counted. And if that makes sense to you – we really are BFFs.

Leave a Reply

