Weight Loss Wednesday 2.3–Managing Cravings

Weight: 197.8 pounds (down 2 pounds from last week, 9.2 pounds total)
Waist: 36.5 inches (down 0.5 inches total)
Hips: 44 inches (down 1 inch total)

Thoughts so far on diet:  I went a little nuts post-race on Sunday.  I desperately wanted pasta and tons of cheese.  I have no regrets.  I actually am more likely to splurge on Italian food than on ice cream.  I think there might be something wrong with me.

Amy asked about cravings on her blog the other day.  I have a huge sweet tooth, so I keep individually wrapped Dove dark chocolate squares (or hearts currently) and eat one when I want to taste something sweet.  I used to chew a lot of gum, but I kept it in my desk at work because it’s toxic to dogs and I’m careless.  I’ve also been drinking a ton of herbal tea to quench my desire for hot things.  Why the crap is it so cold?

Put some clothes on me, mommy! It’s freezing up in here.

For the record, I am still occasional indulging.  And I’m rather addicted to chocolate fudge Goldfish and Pop Secret Kettle Corn.  It’s all about moderation, right?

Thoughts on NROLW:  I’m more than halfway through stage 2 and I’m kind of over it.  I swear this stage is 8 million variations on the lunge, which we all know I loathe.  I slammed my knee doing backwards lunges and I almost broke my toe as well.  Clumsy people should not do exercises that involve going backwards.  The good news is that workout B is rather long, but Charlotte loves childwatch, so it’s made her happy to stay a little longer.

Thoughts on running:  I took yesterday off.  I was planning on it anyways thanks to the disastrous 10K, but the windchill pushed the temperature into the negative range, so I actually managed to follow through on resting.  I was trying to talk myself out of the rest day (I really have a problem with deviating from my training schedule and it’s not good), but it’s just not worth frostbite of the lungs.  I didn’t even walk the dogs yesterday and today (we’ve been doing 2-3 miles most weekdays) because it’s just too cold even with the BOB weather shield.  My clothing is all too big, which isn’t helping because the wind blows up my shirt and jacket.  Lame.

We spend a lot of time in bed under the down alternative comforter. Thank G-d for laptops.

The weather this week is just brutal.  I’m not planning to run tomorrow either since it is supposed to be 0 degrees.  I feel like an extra rest day wouldn’t suck, but I’m never sure when I’m being lazy.  I think it would be quite a struggle to get out of bed tomorrow and I would be so sore after because my muscles would be so tight.  And I’m not actually sure what I want to do for mileage.  I hate having no plan.  I’m going to take this week off, go to my running group Saturday and figure out the plan with my 20K buddy.

So am I a total puss or training sanely?

About Sarah S @RunningOnWords

Married 20-something in flux and trying to cope by running and occasionally crafting.
This entry was posted in Food, Leapster, Training, Weight Loss. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Weight Loss Wednesday 2.3–Managing Cravings

  1. Terzah says:

    This time of year is really hard. I won’t run outside in 0 actual/negative windchill weather either, but I’m lucky and can get away to the Y for the treadmill. That 10K you ran was hard. Another rest day won’t hurt you. Cute Charlotte photos!

  2. A lot of people do the one square piece of dove chocolate for sugar/sweet cravings but I literally can never stop at 1 or 2! 😦 ahh!

    aww the pic with the dog is sooo cute!

  3. Mandy says:

    Congrats on the 2 lbs down.

    I wish I could be as strong willed as you. I stopped counting how many times I broke my “less candy” rule today. 😉

  4. Army Amy says:

    Speaking of cravings, I made a really yummy, supposedly healthy fruit dip yesterday. It was a mix of plain yogurt, cool whip, pumpkin spice, and cinnamon. I was scraping the bowl clean with my apple slices. Really yummy.

    Good job with the weight loss! You must be doing something right!*

  5. Holly says:

    I don’t think I’ve even purchased ice cream since we moved to Cleveland. That would be a year and a half. It is brutal out there.

  6. emily says:

    Under 200! Wee!

    Also, I love the collar 😉

  7. Laura @ Mommy Run Fast says:

    Congrats on your weight loss progress! I am not envious of those cold temps- I’d be taking an extra rest day, too. Hope you and your buddy can come up with a good plan together. And that it warms up for you soon!!

  8. Congrats on another 2lbs! Sounds like you’re kicking ass. And if you can still lose weight and indulge a big, that’s what it’s all about.

  9. Kara says:

    Total puss.

    Also, on the Biggest Loser they lose like 10lbs a week. What is wrong with you?

Leave a Reply

