Weight Loss Wednesday 2.6–the gun show

Weight: 192.2 pounds (down 1.8 pounds from last week, 14.8 pounds total)
Waist: 35.5 inches (down 1.5 inches total)
Hips: 42 inches (down 3 inch total)

Fact: all the weight I lost this week appears to have come from my chest.

On diet: I’m realizing I eat a lot of soup.  It’s a good way to get vegetables and it makes me feel warm and full.  I’d like to start making my own soup because it’d be lower in sodium and probably a lot cheaper (I buy the soup in boxes or plastic containers, because the canned stuff is gross).  So if anyone has an awesome soup recipe, send it my way.  I’m also craving warm out of the oven cookies, so I might have to try making Paula’s paleo cookies this week.  I haven’t checked the calorie content yet, though, so no promises.

On NROLW:  I started stage 3 on Monday and oww.  Just oww.  Today was better, but I’ve noticed that I feel dead every time I switch stages.  The good news?  I kept needing to grab heavier weights because I underestimate my strength.  I’ve moved well past being the girl who struggles with 5 pounds dumbbells.  Grabbing the 20 pound dumbbells and using Olympic barbells with plates on them still feels so strange because I never thought about being that strong.  And I can totally put on a gun show now.

On running: My run yesterday felt like I was barely moving because I was so sore.  I did four of the slowest miles I’ve done post-baby.  I’m glad I ran because I was less sore after. My long run (7 miles) on Saturday went REALLY well this week.  Carrying my pack worked great and I found someone to talk to, so the miles went fast.  My last mile was an 11:38 average pace and while it was challenging, I finished feeling good (even if I stopped running the second my blasted Garmin beeped).  I guess Mandy was right and I needed to man up and do the faster pace group.  I’m still hoping I can lose enough weight to move up a group or two by this summer.

I ran into my former pace coach (I ran with her group until a few weeks ago) and she kept telling me how great I looked and asking what I’d been doing.  That was a HUGE ego boost.  I also ran into my pastor at the gym this morning and she told me I was melting.  Comments like that make me feel really good because sometimes it’s hard for me to see a difference.  One thing I did as soon as I was done running yesterday was take Aleeve.  A lot of people take NSAIDs pre-run, but that’s really inadvisable because it could mask new pain.  Pain is an important indicator of damage to the body, so it’s important to be able to feel it during exercise.  Taking pain killers before exercise can lead to injury and really should be avoided.  And frankly, if you need a painkiller to running, then you probably shouldn’t be running in the first place.  I took the Aleeve for my aching shoulders, my legs were sore, but fine.

No effing around with drugs and working out, mommy.

Anyways, the tiny person and I are off to church for Ash Wednesday.  Last year was the first time in many years that I didn’t make it to church for Ash Wednesday due to being on strict bedrest.  A week later I had a baby.  Crazy.

About Sarah S @RunningOnWords

Married 20-something in flux and trying to cope by running and occasionally crafting.
This entry was posted in Food, Leapster, Training, Weight Loss. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Weight Loss Wednesday 2.6–the gun show

  1. Army Amy says:

    I was just drooling over all the soups on Recipage.com and thinking about the fact that I make too much soup! Seriously though- that’s the place to look for your new favorite recipe.

  2. The cookies are around 140 a piece, BUT I made them again with 1/2 cup almond butter and 1/2 cup almond flour (instead of 1 cup almond butter) and it made 15 cookies instead of 12-13 and they were around 90 calories each. Not too bad!

  3. Pam S says:

    You’re doing awesome on your weight loss!!!

  4. Mandy says:

    When will you learn that I am always right? 😛

  5. Kara says:

    “You’re melting” is a compliment for you, but a death sentence for a wicked witch.

    I’m sorry, but that’s really funny to me. I’m wondering when these updates will come with pictures so we can all congratulate you on wasting away to Kate Moss size.

  6. mommyrunfaster says:

    Yay! Congrats on your consistent weight loss. That’s so sweet of people to let you know how good you look… it always make a difference to hear it from someone else. Oh, and I love that you’re taking up more weights! Such a great way to tone up and realize how strong you are.

Leave a Reply

