Weight Loss Wednesday 2.7–goal setting for lazy people

Weight: 188.6 pounds (down 3.6 pounds from last week, 18.4 pounds total)
Waist: 35.25 inches (down 1.75 inches total)
Hips: 41.5 inches (down 3.5 inch total)

On diet:  This week has been so incredibly awful.  Usually when I’m under this kind of stress, I snack like a fiend.  Now that I don’t have a ton of tempting crap around I’m not eating enough.  I’m just too overwhelmed to think about food and to want to eat it.  The good news is that I had book club on Sunday and probably ate a week’s worth of calories in one sitting.  Also, my very sweet friend brought me lunch and homeopathic cough syrup for the baby yesterday.

I said we could share the banana, but someone is struggling with the meaning of share. We also split her favorite pasta salad. And yes, I’ve been letting her rock out in her PJs for the last three days.

On NROLW:  I had to take this week off.  Sick baby can’t come to the gym with me and my knee would probably explode if I bang it off the floor (I tend to do that a lot).  If I’m being totally honest, I was aching all the way down to my bones after the last week, so this is probably a good thing.  Still, lifting helps me burn off the nervous energy and stress, so my mental state is suffering a little.

On running:  Thanks to my crap health insurance I haven’t been able to get my knee checked, but it’s getting better, which makes me think it’s a bruise and not ligament damage.  I’m hoping to try running tomorrow, but that really depends on the baby and if she lets me sleep.  She’s sick enough that she’s having trouble sleeping.  I would also like to try to get in my long run on Saturday, but if I can’t it’s no big deal.  I’ve already run 7 miles twice recent memory and I didn’t actually take my drop back week since I did the 10K.  I was planning to do a mud run on 3/2, but I’m dropping out thanks to my knee, so I’ll be able to do my normal long run with MIT that week (I hope).

Feeding her in the playard is the only way she gets enough to eat. She’ll give anything to the little beggars. Rufus was licking her hand through the mesh.

I have a small problem with goal setting…I haven’t actually done it yet.  I have no goal weight in mind (nor do I know what’s even realistic).  I have no real mini goals, which will help me feel motivated to keep going.  I should have some damn running goals and stop flying by the seat of my pants.  Honestly, I’m just too lazy to think about stuff like this most of the time.  And I’m way too broke now to use my previously planned reward system from the last time I was attempting lose a large amount of weight.

Anyways, it’s time to set some small goals and contemplate a way to celebrate achievement without emptying my bank account or gorging myself.  Food is probably a poor reward for weight loss.  Just a thought.  I’d also like to have some financial goals (I am doing the 52 week challenge, but that’s only going to take me so far towards my dreams of a second baby and a bigger car).

52 Week Money Challenge. Next year I want to try it in reverse ($52 the first week down to $1 the last week) or double it.

This would be the part where I post my goals list, but I’m so fried this week that I just didn’t get it together.  So I guess you’ll get it next week.  I also need to take some “in the midst” photos since I failed at taking new before photos.  I am such a bad blogger.  You also didn’t get a picture of my banged up knee because it would mean shaving.  My husband is a lucky man.

I will now admit that my goal was to be in the 180s by Charlotte’s birthday party, which is still scheduled for this Saturday (although it may or may not actually happen).  My reward is having an awesome weekend with my family and I will be eating a massive Thurman’s burger with some of my favorite people on Friday.  It’s not a reward for meeting my weight loss goal, but it sure will feel nice to know I can have a few pig out days and know I won’t be pushing the scale back over 200!

About Sarah S @RunningOnWords

Married 20-something in flux and trying to cope by running and occasionally crafting.
This entry was posted in Food, Leapster, Training, Weight Loss. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Weight Loss Wednesday 2.7–goal setting for lazy people

  1. Terzah says:

    Sounds to me like you met your weight loss goal for Charlotte’s birthday anyway!
    I hope she’s much better soon. I hate coughs. My son has one too–he always gets one when he catches a cold because of his asthma and it’s made for some turbulent nights this week for us too. But it’s easier with a 6-YO than a poor little baby.

    I love that money challenge. I wonder if I can catch up.

  2. Army Amy says:

    18 pounds total is amazing! Especially considering that you didn’t really have a real goal in mind. I hope that the baby and you are feeling better in time for the birthday. I think everyone in the family (husband and dogs included) are probably ready for a big celebration!

  3. Laura @ Mommy Run Fast says:

    Congrats on being in the 180s!! Can’t believe it’s almost Charlotte’s birthday already… really?!? Enjoy the celebration and the burger!

  4. Kara says:

    I’m sorry to hear that Charlotte is sick! Sick babies are the worst. I love those PJs, Faith has them too.

    I bet you could combine your money saving and weight loss ideas for success. I know, I’m a genius.

Leave a Reply

