Weight Loss Wednesday 2.7–this is starting to go poorly

Weight: 188. pounds (up 0.2 pounds from last week, down 18.2 pounds total)
Waist: 35.25 inches (down 1.75 inches total)
Hips: 41.5 inches (down 3.5 inch total)

On diet:   I was absolutely expecting to maintain this week and not lose much (or any) because I ate all kinds of crazy stuff all weekend.  Skyline chili totally tastes as good as thin feels.

On NROLW:  I tried lifting on Monday and was in agony after.  I was supposed to do lunges and just froze because I knew it would hurt so much.  My knee is not bouncing back the way I expected, so I finally scheduled an appointment with my doctor.  I have a bone contusion and burstitis thanks to a strained hamstring at the knee.  No squats or lunges for 2-3 weeks.  I think I’m going to focus on upper body lifting for the next 3 weeks and then start NROLW stage 3 from the beginning with the knowledge that I might even do that stage twice.  Unless someone who has done NROLW has a better suggestion?

On running: I tried to run yesterday AM and thought my knee might explode.  I then ran about 0.2 miles with the dogs and stroller (in jeans no less) because it started pouring.  That time it didn’t hurt.  I think I lean more forward with the stroller, so focusing on a midfoot strike might be all I need to do to keep running.  Dr. B said to “let pain be [my] guide” and that I could run as long as I’m not limping.  I’m going to try running again tomorrow.  If I make it through my scheduled 4.5 pain free then I’ll try my 8 on Saturday.  Otherwise, I’ll reevaluate my plans for a half.  I’m kind of frustrated though since this is the fifth half I’ve trained for and I’ve only run one thanks to pregnancy and injuries.

Speaking of injuries, I feel like I must be doing something wrong, but the injuries were either due to post-partum muscle weakness or specific falls.  I think I might be too clumsy to function.  It’s hard because I need to let my body recover, but I’m going nuts from not being able to do much.  I also get stomachaches and depressed if I’m not exercising.  Also also, I’m hungry and I feel like I don’t get to eat enough.  When I workout I eat an extra 300-400 calories, so I have to be more careful and skip a snack if I’m not working out.  That’s tough.

The good news?  Umm, I’m still down over 18 pounds.  I gained a little weight and was nowhere near 200.  My pants are still falling off and I’ve started buying a few things in large instead of XL (by things, I mean stuff of the clearance rack at Marshall’s).  I had to switch to smaller yoga pants during lifting so they didn’t fall off while I was working with large weights.

About Sarah S @RunningOnWords

Married 20-something in flux and trying to cope by running and occasionally crafting.
This entry was posted in Food, Leapster, Training, Weight Loss. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Weight Loss Wednesday 2.7–this is starting to go poorly

  1. Terzah says:

    Just continue to be very patient and methodical about it and you’ll come back! Remember the last 18 months have been a real challenge for your body–it’s probably still bouncing back, you know?

    Oh, and by the way, I’m with you….there are many things that taste as great as being thin feels. Ha!

Leave a Reply

