Party like a one year old!

Well, Charlotte’s birthday didn’t exactly go as planned.  She kept having diarrhea that led to what looked like a sunburn on her bottom.  That progressed quickly to bleeding and open sores and then I started vomiting (not from looking at it).  Basically, we’ve all got norovirus and she’s got an epically irritated bum and groin to go with it.  My husband and I are both on the upswing, but she’s a tiny baby, so there’s still vomiting, diarrhea, and lots of tears.  I’ll post about the fallout later when I’m feeling less overwhelmed.

ANYWAYS, rather than focus on more misery, let’s talk birthday party!  Luckily we had it before her birthday instead of after and she was relatively healthy enough to enjoy it.  We had about 20 people here, including 5 other kids (4 toddlers and a 6 year old).  That being said, I don’t feel comfortable posting pictures of kids other than Charlotte and Avery because I haven’t checked with their parents (and said parents don’t know I blog).

The big cake. My neighbor is this super amazing cake baker who decorated the cakes to look just like the party set we picked out.

I had the house setup way in advance because I’m crazy like that.  I would have put all the food out hours in advance if I could have gotten away with it.  The puggles, for the record, spent the day at daycare because I thought they’d play a rousing game of toddler bowling during the party.

She is so my kid and was so ready to get this party on the road.

Most of my family had come in (my stepdad can’t travel, but my mom, dad, stepmom, sister, and brother-in-law came) and it was so much fun to spend some time with them!  Once the party guests started showing up, the house was packed full!

We gettin’ crunk (on water)!

Turns out children go nuts when they see a pile of unopened gifts. Every single one of the presents were out of their wrappers and being played with by the time we were done opening.  Even the bath toys.

New farm from Grandma and Grandpa and a new train from Aunt Mandy (who bought the train 6 months in advance because it has been discontinued). Must play with all the toys at once!

After presents, a child informed me that it was cake time.  Frankly, I never know when to move on to the next activity at a party, so I found it refreshing!

Charlotte’s smash cake.

Mr. Big Pants tried to explain that she needed to smash more, but the kid ran out of steam after the icing. So Mr. Big Pants helped himself to a big bite.  I’m pretty sure he was trying to convince the kid that there’s such a thing as Grandpa Tax.

I gave her a piece of cheese right after this because she looked so crashed out on sugar.

The kids played with pretty much every single toy on this floor of my house, so I vote this party a success!

More cake!

About Sarah S @RunningOnWords

Married 20-something in flux and trying to cope by running and occasionally crafting.
This entry was posted in Leapster, Parenting. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Party like a one year old!

  1. You know, I think I want a smash cake for my birthday this year? Why exactly does that have to end so early?

  2. Happy (belated) birthday to her! So sorry you were all that sick, yuck. But I’m glad the party still happened. And wow, that cake is amazing!

  3. Alyssa says:

    I feel like it was yesterday when she was your Leap Day baby! She is so freaking cute! Happy birthday, Charlotte!

  4. Terzah says:

    It looks like a fantastic party!! Happy Birthday little C!

    I’m so sorry about the norovirus, though. What a nasty bug year this has been, pretty much everywhere from what I can tell. I hope you all get tons of rest.

  5. Mandy says:

    I just love that my kid looks like a drunkard at the party. Fabulous party!

Leave a Reply

