Weight Loss Wednesday 2.11–Working out with seniors

Weight: 183.8 pounds (down 1.2 pounds from last week, down 22.4 pounds total)
Waist: 34.5 inches (down 2.5 inches total)
Hips: 40.5 inches (down 4.5 inch total)

On diet:  I would probably have lost another pound this week were it not for book club.  I was hosting, so I indulged in the margaritas and someone brought me my favorite dip (Skyline chili, cream cheese, and cheddar).  I know I should say that I regret it, but I don’t.

On NROLW cross-training:  Still no squats and lunges.  I did boot camp again on Monday and loved it still.  The margaritas the night before may have been a mistake though.  In fact, half way through I turned to the person next to me and admitted that I was regretting my life choices.  Line drills+margaritas do not mix.

Today I tried the only Wendesday fitness class I can attend: Active Older Adults.  Basically, weights for senior citizens.  I learned that old people are super sassy and do not appreciate when you assure them that you “only” run half marathons (I was wearing a Marathoner in Training shirt, which is my running group).  I enjoyed the class, but I’m not sure it’s going to be enough for my weight training goals.  I’m still searching for the perfect workout.  I could theoretically hire a trainer, but that doesn’t really align with my fiscal goals.

On running:  I have done 4 miles pain free three times in the last week!  Saturday I ran with the No Boundaries group again.  Turns out that I am actually extremely lazy and easily did an 11 minute/mile average.  I seem to run much faster if I have someone to keep up with/talk to.  Yesterday’s 4 miles sucked majorly due to the insane 20+ mile an hour winds.  I actually had to come home after the first 0.75 mile to add clothing.  I can honestly say that has never happened to me before.

Anyways, I know I’ve been lazy about blogging, but it’s because I’m busy trying to get out there and accomplish my goals.  I’m finishing The Total Money Makeover: A Proven Plan for Financial Fitness by Dave Ramsey, which has me totally distracted.  I promise cute baby pictures on Friday.  Probably.

About Sarah S @RunningOnWords

Married 20-something in flux and trying to cope by running and occasionally crafting.
This entry was posted in Food, Training, Weight Loss. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Weight Loss Wednesday 2.11–Working out with seniors

  1. Terzah says:

    I need that money book, too–I actually have a different one at home, but have I cracked it? Not so much…..

    • Holly says:

      Love Dave Ramsey! (Sarah I can’t get the comment box to work… not sure why so hitting a reply which does work.) Can’t remember if you mentioned him before on your blog or not but we follow his plan, mostly. Some things with a grain of salt. But we really enjoy it.

  2. Michael says:

    Congrats on the weight loss, that’s still a solid number! I can’t seem to lose weight to save my life right now. I think maybe it’s because I continue to eat Cadbury Eggs like they “going out of style”. Dang they are good. I also run much faster when I run with a group. But can’t seem to replicate it on my own. I need a coach to push me…apparently my own head doesn’t work hard enough.

  3. Mandy says:

    Congrats on the weight loss! That’s actually pretty impressive considering the massive amounts of non-healthy food present at book club. 🙂

  4. Wow, you are kickin’ ass! Nice job sticking with it. I hope you are taking lots of full body photos so I can see the transformation.

  5. Alyssa says:

    Woo hoo on weight loss and running with no pain! I have been striving so hard to find a book club I like (mainly for the food and wine). That dip has been on my list for awhile to incorporate into my new lifestyle!

  6. Kara says:

    I’m still waiting for the picture proof of all this weight loss. I’d like you to make it into a gif that looks like you’re melting. Please and thank you.

Leave a Reply

