Weight Loss Wednesday 2.14–Drowning

Weight: 180.2 pounds (down 1.6 pounds from last week, down 25! pounds total)
Waist: 34.25 inches (down 2.75 inches total)
Hips: 40.5 inches (down 4.5 inch total)

This is going to have to be brief.  The kid got shots today and my husband has been working out of town all week.

On diet:  I ate less.  I still indulged in plenty of things I love (Samoas and Thin Mints are my weakness), but I stuck to smaller portions.  I suppose I could do a WIAW (What I Ate Wednesday), but it’s boring and I’m lazy.  I have discovered a few new favorite lower calorie recipes.  Is that something I should start sharing?

On NROLW cross-training:  I knew I was in trouble on Monday when there was huge guy who I normally see power lifting subbing for boot camp.  I wasn’t sore yesterday, but this morning hurt.  I decided to try Vinyasa flow yoga today and that definitely helped the soreness, but really emphasized my complete lack of flexibility.  I also didn’t feel like I got much of a workout, although my HR monitor said I burned 253 calories in 53 minutes.  We did yoga out on the gym patio, so I think the breeze was drying all my sweat.  I don’t care for yoga, but outside yoga was way more exciting and I admit that my legs feel much better.  My friend later told me that she normally attends this class, so I think she’s going to hold me accountable for going.  I’m still not a yoga fan, but it is good for core strength and I desperately need the stretching for my various leg issues.

On running:  I just couldn’t force myself outside for a 20 degree run at 5 AM last Thursday.  Saturday we did 5 and it felt better than the last time I did 5 at that speed.  Imagine my shock when I got up at 4:30 AM on Tuesday for my run and it was 55 degrees (as an aside, yes my schedule does suck. That’s what happens when you work from home with a small child).  Anyways, despite the time, it was a pretty great run.  I wore one layer of clothing and even rolled my sleeves up.  The humidity was a little more than I expected, but it is so much easier to get up that early when it’s not well below freezing.  Now to tackle 6 miles this Saturday for the first time since I wrecked my knee.’

So, regarding the much demanded pictures, I have a confession for you.  I never took new before pictures after my pregnancy.  I know, I’m the worst blogger ever, but I just never got to it.  As much as I’d already lost a lot of weight, I have a harder time not hating my stomach.  I weigh less, but my abs died (RIP), so everything looked floppier (let’s not even talk about what breast feeding did).  I also have a horrendous scar (it’s off center, which makes me crazy) right below my bikini line and all kinds of exciting new stretchmarks.  It was and still is totally 100% worth it, but it’s different and we all know I handle change poorly.

Anyways, I owe myself some new pictures.  I don’t think I realize how much my body is changing.  I went from a size 14 to a size 10.  I put on an XL babydoll cut t-shirt yesterday and it was loose (it was previously just this side of unacceptably tight).  I actually meant to take a picture in the shirt, but then the baby smeared chocolate on the right breast.  That being said, I’m in the middle of sorting out my seasonally appropriate clothing, so it’s going to have to wait until next week.  And I’m really overwhelmed with work and family stuff right now.  I also really want to do a post about the financial realities of losing weight and how we are incorporating Dave Ramsey, but I just ran out of time and energy this week.  The good news is my sinus infection is almost gone, so hopefully I can get back to blogging at least twice a week next week and get you some pictures.  I don’t even have time to add in baby pictures today because I still have hours of work left and need to be up at 4:30 tomorrow (my husband’s schedule is KILLING me).

TLDR, I’m a mega whiner who sucks at blogging, but I’ll try to do better next week.

About Sarah S @RunningOnWords

Married 20-something in flux and trying to cope by running and occasionally crafting.
This entry was posted in Food, Training, Weight Loss. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Weight Loss Wednesday 2.14–Drowning

  1. Look at you back on track. Nothing wrong with eating something bad here and there and long as 80% of it is good. Looking forward to those pictures. If you have a full body suit from the 80s, I think you should wear that for them.

  2. Holly says:

    I am queen of whining. My post last week… case in point. It’s cool. We will not look at you any different for whining. Commenting at home b/c work internet browser sucks $#@.

  3. Mandy says:

    I think it is totally lame that you used chocolate breast smears to get out of posting a picture. I want to see these smears damn it!

    Hmm…maybe this is why I have so few friends? 😀

  4. Kara says:

    If you can’t whine on your blog, what’s the point of having one?

  5. Alyssa says:

    Awesome job on the weight loss! But now I want girl scout cookies. Dammit. What’s this about eating them in smaller portions? Like, as in having Thin Mints left in the sleeve the day after you open it? Does. Not. Compute.

  6. You definitely need some pictures… congrats on the continued weight loss!!

Leave a Reply

