Child Abuse Prevention 5K Race Report

Date: April 20, 2013
Location: Delaware, OH
Distance: 3.1 miles (ostensibly, the course was clearly quite long)
Time: 35:48 (PR)
Gimmick: Cheap.

Oh this race.  So I originally signed up because the race was under $10 (we registered as a group of three) and I really wanted to see if I could get a sub-35 5K.  The day before the race, the forecast was less than promising (high in the 50s, but lows in the 30s).  The morning of the race was cold!  I layered on my winter running clothing (hopefully for the last time) and then made everyone sit with me in the car until the last possible moment.  We assumed the race would be small and it was at around 90 people.

I actually got relatively near the front of the start line for the first time.  A lot of the people were there with strollers or seemed pretty casual about the race.  I knew I could run sub-35, but not if I had to pass huge crowds.  I mostly passed people, rather than being passed, so I’m pretty sure that was the right choice.  I doubt I’ll ever start that close to the front again, but it was kind of fun just this once.

Anyways, the race went over a dam and across a ridge, which meant that it was FREEZING. The wind was so loud that I didn’t even consider pulling out my headphones after I lost my friend around 1.3 miles.  I wouldn’t have been able to hear the headphones, so it wasn’t worth the potentially lost time.  Mile 1 was my slowest at 10:58.  I’d planned to start around an 11, so I was happy with that, especially since the cold kept me from doing a warm-up mile before the race.

Mile 2 was a 10:35 pace despite almost tripping over the moron who decided to tie her shoe at the turn-around sign that we were told we had to run around.  I was also trying to pass someone who didn’t want to be passed, so that led to a spectacular bottleneck.  Once I got past mile 2, I decided to skip the water stop (it was at about 0.75 miles, so I skipped it on the way out) and really try to beat my goal.  My watch said I would be fine, even if the course was the normal 0.1 or so long.

Mile 3 was a 10:13, but I realized the start/finish seemed a bit further away.  I kept telling myself that Kara says a 5K is run until you puke and tried to sprint back to beat the clock.  I couldn’t keep up my sprint for a half mile though, so I ended up with 0.42 miles at a 9:38 pace.  I must have looked rough because the timing guy asked me if I was ok.  I knew I hadn’t gotten my time goal even though the clock was broken (it blew over and smashed at some point).  I was super disappointed, but there’s not really much to be done.  I debated even admitting my disappointment, because at least I got to finish, but my husband says to be honest.  Anyways, the race guy said I wasn’t the only one complaining that the race was quite long.  10% too long seems like less of a problem with tangents and my watch and more of a problem with the course, but maybe I’m wrong.  I also didn’t mean to complain, he just could tell that I was sad and I’m a bad liar.

So in summation, I ran fast (for me), but not fast enough.  If the distance had been anything remotely approaching 5K, I would have been sub-35.  Basically, I need to sign up for another 5K in a few months and then run even faster.  Problem solved!

In summation, I’m proud of the race I ran, but it’s hard not to fixate on not hitting a specific time.  I think that says more about my type A personality than anything else.  I think we more than got our money’s worth (a tech tee, a banana, water bottles, and chip timing for under $10!) and I like the cause that this supports (child abuse prevention).

About Sarah S @RunningOnWords

Married 20-something in flux and trying to cope by running and occasionally crafting.
This entry was posted in Race Recap. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Child Abuse Prevention 5K Race Report

  1. Michael says:

    It sounds like you had a great race!! It’s too bad it was long, but look at your average pace per mile vs. your overall. You are definitely ready for a sub 35! And you got a PR anyway so that is pretty awesome!! I hate long races though…they are such a bummer. They are all a little long, but I’ve ran a few that were just crazy off. You’ll get it next time..well I think technically you did this time!

  2. Alyssa says:

    Ugh a too long course is so annoying! But hey, at least you know you have sub 35 in you, so next time you can make the race your bitch!

  3. Terzah says:

    A PR is a PR, I say, and since the course was long, you *did* get your goal. I know it’s nice to have it validated elsewhere, though. I bet that happens at your next race.

  4. TriGirl says:

    Those are great paces! It’s too bad you didn’t get the time you wanted, but it sounds like you did better than a lot of other racers out there that day…and you finished the race, so kudos to you 🙂

  5. Mandy says:

    I completely understand your fixation with the time goal, as I have the exact same problem. Shocker!

    0.32 miles long! Um. That’s not tangents, I suck at running tangents and even in half marathon don’t go that long. Congrats on a fantastic speed!!! I have no doubt that you will need to be setting even faster goals before too long. 😉

  6. That’s a great race time, congrats!

  7. Army Amy says:

    YAY for the new PR! That’s awesome! And your speed at the end? Sound like you were majorly hauling it! That totally sucks that the course was that long though. (I don’t know that I’ve ever run a 5k that measured that long.) I agree, time to sign up for another 5k so you can bust through your goal!

  8. Sean Costello says:

    Good report and nice job despite conditions. I knew that course was long. My watch showed 3.45 miles at the end. (I was actually searching for info on this race to see if anyone had similar thoughts when i stumbled on your blog.) Long, headwind, cold. What more could you ask for? At least it raised some awareness for important issues.

  9. Pingback: Weight Loss Wednesday 2.16–Goodbye plateau! | Running On Words

Leave a Reply

