Join the Movement

April 21-27 is National Infertility Awareness Week.  As you may recall from previous years, we struggled with infertility for 14 months before conceiving totally unexpectedly in August 2011.

We have a healthy baby (almost toddler), so most people don’t realize we were diagnosed with infertility.  We don’t talk about it much, even though I’m terrified that we won’t be able to conceive another child.  Somehow it feels like our struggle doesn’t count because we got our baby and never went through some of the invasive treatments that other have to use.

One of the stated goals for the “Join the Movement” campaign is to change the conversation about infertility.  I realized this morning that I can change it by having it at all.  While I’ve been very open on this blog, I’ve never been good at talking about it in real life.  My mother-in-law found out a few weeks ago because I never told her.  I don’t think my husband has ever told anyone.  I try to be open about it, but it’s really hard to feel like a voice for infertility now that we have a baby.  Sometimes I get the feeling people don’t understand why it’s still an issue, so I’ve stopped talking about it as much.

So it’s time to change the conversation by having it at all.  You aren’t alone.  1 in 8 couples experiences infertility and it can be emotional, physically, and financially draining experience.  We were fortunate enough to conceive on our own, but there shouldn’t be a stigma surrounding fertility treatment or adoption.

Part of me is so relieved to be “on the other side” but we have no way of knowing if we can have a second child.  I worry a lot about if we will be able to conceive again and how that might affect my family and my child.  I want to give Charlotte a sibling, but part of me is afraid to even try again because it was so hard last time.

Anyways, if you stumbled your way here via the Google (or Bing or whatever the kids are using these days), click HERE for more information on infertility.

IF Screenshot

About Sarah S @RunningOnWords

Married 20-something in flux and trying to cope by running and occasionally crafting.
This entry was posted in Septate Uterus, TTC. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Join the Movement

  1. Kara says:

    How come infertility only gets a week when May is Pregnancy Awareness Month? That’s bullshit.

  2. Army Amy says:

    I’m glad to hear that you are taking steps to talking about it more. I never really knew much about infertility (other than what I saw on tv, so not much) until one of my coworkers posted a link on her facebook to her blog. Turns out it was a blog all about her fertility struggles, the ivf, the frozen embryos, the inconsiderate things people say without realizing it. It was eye opening and served to teach me a lot about what’s appropriate and what isn’t and it just made me more aware. So what I’m trying to say is, the more we talk about it, the better!

  3. April says:

    Thanks Sarah. 🙂

  4. Laura @ Mommy Run Fast says:

    Such an important issue to talk about- I agree with you, people have a very hard time opening up about this in real life, and then it can be painful when others make pregnancy comments but have no idea what’s really going on. Our story is much like yours, as you know. And I agree- it feels less valid in some way now that we’re on the other side, but those emotions and experiences are very real. Thanks for sharing!

  5. Mandy says:

    I am so thankful that we are friends and I have learned so much. Love you!

  6. it was always my fear, I can’t imagine what you had to go through. People always assume that I did IVF since that’s the only way to get twins (assumed).

Leave a Reply

