Weight Loss Wednesday, err Thursday 2.18

I didn’t even attempt to start this post yesterday.  I’d say I’m sorry, but it would be a lie.  This week has been insanely awful (and to those on Twitter and Facebook, we are still waiting to get our laptops back).

Weight: 175.2 pounds (down 1.2 pounds this week, down 30! pounds total)
Waist: 32.25 inches (down 4.75 inches total)
Hips: 38.5 inches (down 6.5 inches total)

On diet:  I’m in the midst of a no sweets or fast food challenge for the BYNGO challenge at my gym.  I’m on day 4 of no sweets and I might tackle the next person I see eating ice cream.  Otherwise I just try to eat, but not too much.  Now that it’s summer and I’m also incredibly stressed, I keep realizing I’ve forgotten to eat snacks.  It’s not that I don’t want food, it’s that I don’t have time to eat it when I’m actually hungry.  It’s a problem.

On NROLW cross-training:  I went to my gym’s version of Body Pump, boot camp, and yoga this week.  I also did a lifting workout, abs, rowing machine, and a stationary bike.  I’m between contract jobs (hopefully not for long), so I worked out for over 2 hours yesterday because there’s so much on that BYNGO card and I want a blackout.  This is not sane, healthy, or recommended, but the baby is still getting three top teeth, so the two hours without screaming was blissful.  I do have some huge knots in my back now, but I have a Groupon for a massage that I will be redeeming today.

On running: I have to do 100 minutes of treadmill running this month as part of BYNGO.  I also have to do 100 minutes of outdoor running, but that’s easy.  I decided to run off some anxiety on Saturday and did 1.5 miles on the treadmill followed by a cool down (I’d already done an hour fitness class).  It was not quite as terrifying as I expected, but I really hugged the front because I’m clumsy and convinced I’m going to go flying off of the back.  I also talked to a guy with a 14.5 pound 2 months old.  I was easily distracted from my fear when he was telling me that his wife pushed a 10+ pound baby out with no epidural.  I told him to make sure to give her a high-five for me.  I also squeezed in a 5K run Tuesday morning (I cannot do 3 milers, I always have to do 3.1 and call it a 5K) and another mile on the treadmill during my 2+ workout extravaganza yesterday.  I’m running with no real goal because Detroit training doesn’t start until June, so I just need to stay in shape enough to run 2 miles.  I’m trying to focus more on lifting and cross training until then so my knees are happy.

Also, I’m totally taking the next two Saturdays off from running and doing a photography workshop instead.  I’m really beyond excited.  There’s a lot of stuff I don’t do because it conflicts with long runs, so I’m really making the most of the break between MIT seasons.

So let’s talk BYNGO.  For the last week I gave up tv.  While we are cableless, I pay nominal fees to get Hulu Plus and Netflix, which I like to stream while I’m working or cleaning the house.  I was kind of stressed out by the lack of tv, but I realized that I’ve been sitting here for over an hour applying for contract jobs and it didn’t even occur to me to turn the tv on.  That’s unusual to say the least.  I am looking forward to having tv back for all the cardio machine challenges, because tv-less treadmill running is boring.

So my BYNGO goals for this week are:

1.  Finish the no sweets challenge successfully (ends Monday)
2.  Finish the outdoor running challenge (I have 35 of 100 minutes completed).
3.  Attend at least 3 more group fitness classes (I have attended 3 of the required 8 already)
4.  Attempt the rock wall at least once (I have to do this 3 times and I’m absolutely terrified)
5.  Get in at least 1 hours of hiking (I need 2 total and we often do this on nice weekends).
6.  Another 2-3 strength workouts and another 3-4 ab workouts (I have 2 out of 8 and 1 out of 10 done, respectively)
7.  Devote a day to cross-training on the stationary bike (I have 5 of 50 miles done) and the rowing machine (I have 10 of 60 minutes done)
8.  Get 7-8 hours of sleep at least 3 nights this week (I have 3 out of 10 done)

Wow, it’s probably a good thing I’m off work with my main job right now.  I don’t think I could do all this otherwise.  Is this insane?  I feel really great after getting this much exercise or I wouldn’t be doing it.  I’m a tad sore after yesterday, but other wise I have a ton of energy.

Oh yes, and I had to weigh in and get my body fat measured, so I can officially tell you that I am approximately 31% fat (those little handheld things are not all that accurate).  That number seems really high to me, but I know women aren’t really supposed to get below 20%, so maybe it’s not as awful as it sounds? At least one chart I saw says that is in the average range for my age.

About Sarah S @RunningOnWords

Married 20-something in flux and trying to cope by running and occasionally crafting.
This entry was posted in Food, Training, Weight Loss. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Weight Loss Wednesday, err Thursday 2.18

  1. Terzah says:

    Hey! Wow, that BYNGO challenge sounds hard. You are doing great–it sounds like there’s a lot of life stuff happening too. I think it’s interesting that they have you doing more treadmill running than outdoor. I know I’d prefer the opposite. I’m doing the sugar detox too, and trying to get off 5 pounds that I somehow gained between my half-marathon in March and my disappointing marathon two weeks ago.

    Oh, and teething does end, don’t worry!

  2. Mandy says:

    Holy wow. I’m tired just reading all that, and you know that is not normal!

    I kind of want to do the body pod thing for body fat….

  3. Army Amy says:

    All I could think when reading this was, “That’s a crap ton of working out!” Way to go! It sounds like you are really motivated right now to go go go! I need to borrow that motivation, please.

Leave a Reply

